Burgschenke Burg Oberjuvalt, 7405 Rothenbrunnen
The castle complex was probably built around 1250 by the Lords of Juvalt. It was in their possession until 1515 and was mentioned as a ruin in 1550. The castle has been gradually renovated since 1979 and restored to as original a condition as possible. At the highest point of the rock stands a three-storey tower.
The superior courtyard, which is surrounded by a parapet wall against the valley, was built later. The fascinating castle complex, which is owned by the Domleschg Castle Association and is often referred to as Oberjuvalt, is accessible again thanks to this extensive renovation work.
Innerjuvalt is operated as a castle tavern and is open to the public. Reachable on foot in about 30 minutes from Burgenweg Domleschg.
Oberjuvalt Castle is open every weekend from 09.00 from 1 May. In case of bad weather, the castle may open later. Please note the flag on the castle. When the flag is raised, the castle is open - otherwise not.
An extensive brunch with homemade products or a fondue or raclette party in the evening can be booked by appointment.
Contact address for reservations: Marlise Lötscher Tel. +41 81 250 63 20 or +41 76 522 07 58
Responsible for this content Viamala Tourism.
This content has been translated automatically.
This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.