Castle Viamala

Innerjuvalt Castle

Burg Oberjuvalt
Burg Oberjuvalt Winter
Innerjuvalt Castle (often referred to as Oberjuvalt) rises majestically high above the southern end of the village of Rothenbrunnen on a rocky outcrop.


The castle was probably built around 1250 by the lords of Juvalt. It was in their possession until 1515 and was mentioned as a ruin in 1550. Since 1979, the castle has been gradually renovated and restored to its original state. A three-storey tower stands at the highest point of the rock.

The inner courtyard in front of it, which is surrounded by a parapet wall towards the valley, was built later. The fascinating castle complex, which is owned by the Domleschg Castle Association and is often referred to as Oberjuvalt, is once again accessible thanks to this extensive renovation work.


Innerjuvalt is run as a castle tavern and is open to the public. Accessible on foot in approx. 30 minutes from the Domleschg Castle Trail.

Opening hours

Oberjuvalt Castle is open every weekend from 1 May from 09.00 am. In bad weather, the castle may open later. Please note the flag on the castle. If the flag is hoisted, the castle is open - otherwise not.

A hearty brunch with home-made products or a fondue or raclette party in the evening can be booked in advance.

Contact address for bookings:
Marlise Lötscher Tel. +41 81 250 63 20 or +41 76 522 07 58


Innerjuvalt Castle

Burgschenke Burg Oberjuvalt, 7405 Rothenbrunnen

Responsible for this content: Viamala Tourism.

Outdooractive Logo

This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.