Museum Bregaglia Engadin
Show all 3 images
Coltura, 7605 Stampa
The Comune was able to purchase the palazzo from the last descendants of the Castelmur family in 1961 and convert it into a museum. During the summer months is open to the public.
The builder of the palazzo, Giovanni Castelmur, was the son of a confectioner who had emigrated to Nice. He returned to his parents' home in 1840 and extended the patrician house of the Redolfi family, built in 1723, with a tower-fortified extension in the Lombard/Venezian style. Construction work on the palazzo was completed in 1854.
The successful combination of old and new and the luxurious redecoration of the entire complex are the work of various Milanese specialists: the engineer and architect Giovanni Crassi-Marliani, the stone mason Giovanni Pedrazzini, the painter Gaspare Tirinanzi. The majority of the other excellent artisans also came from nearby Lombardy region. The interior design of the Mansion, although more opulent, is consistent with the exterior architectural style of the building. With the exception of one room, the wood paneling in the rooms located in the original Redolfi structure, are varnished or wallpapered. In the newer part of the Mansion, there are a lovely dining room, a living room, red and green wallpapered bedrooms and four small tower rooms. The walls and ceilings of certain rooms are decorated with wall paintings; the trompe-l'oeil are particularly stunning.
The entry price is CHF 8. - for adults and CHF 4. - for school children.
June 1st- October 20th, Tuesday thru Sunday from 2pm to 5pm a
July 15 to August 31 from 11am to 5pm.
Parking in front of the Palazzo Castelmur
Responsible for this content Bregaglia Engadin Turismo.
This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.