Historic Altsdtadt Surselva
Show all 3 images
The current building served until 1970 as a schoolhouse and from then on as a town hall with the various institutions of the city and today's municipality Ilanz/Glion. The model of the wooden bridge over the Rhine, which was demolished in 1962, is also located in the town hall.Casa Grischa and the Plazza Cumin in the Reformation period
As early as 1526, when the reformer Johannes Comander came to Ilanz and defended the Reformed faith in a public debate, the town hall stood on this site. It was a building with mighty walls and small windows just behind the lower city gate. Ilanz was an important political center at the time. Again and again, the city hosted the delegates of the 52 judicial communities of the Three Leagues for the "Bundstag", the state parliament. Progressive laws were enacted here: the First and Second Ilanzer Article Letters. In 1524 the bishop was first excluded from secular power and then in 1526 the citizens were granted the right to elect and dismiss their pastor themselves. These political foundations for the Reformation of the faith were unique in all of Europe.
The Landsgemeindeplatz was located outside the city walls. Since the 16th century, the citizens of the nine Reformed neighborhoods of Schnaus, Strada, Ilanz, Castrisch, Valendas, Versam, Riein, Pitasch and Luven as well as the three Catholic villages of Falera, Ladir, Ruschein and the parity Sagogn voted for the court and the council. A denominational proportional representation regulated the distribution of offices. Thus, the Reformed congregations provided the Landamman for four years, after which the Catholic communities came into play. In four centuries, the Ilanzers have gained a lot of experience in dealing with the other denomination.
Responsible for this content Surselva Tourismus AG.
This content has been translated automatically.
This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.